Select a location

This selection will switch the site from presenting information primarily about Africa-wide to information primarily about . If you would like to switch back, you may use location selection options at the top of the page.

Events

African WIN Insights Report: The future of the African legal team

14 Jul 2022
9am - 10am BST / WEST / WAT
10am – 11am EET / SAST
11am – 12pm EAT

For in-house lawyers working across Africa the message is clear: you are at the forefront of a revolution. A continent with explosive growth in innovation, talent and opportunity, Africa’s legal and business landscape is rapidly evolving and with it, the role of the in-house lawyer.

Join our moderator, Angela Mndolwa (Partner), and a panel of Africa’s leading general counsel on the eve of the release of our African WIN Insights Report: The future of the African legal team. In partnership with Legal 500, the report and accompanying benchmarking study, presents the views of over 300 in-house counsel responsible for Africa. Our panel of GCs will share their perspective on the changes they are living through, the challenges they face and the future of the in-house legal function in Africa, touching on the four key themes highlighted in our report:

  • The changing role of the GC in Africa
  • How to structure legal teams for success
  • Recruiting and retaining talent within the legal function
  • The use of technology as the driver of innovation and change

Our panel includes:

  • Amina Bashir, Head of Legal and Company Secretary, Gulf African Bank (Kenya)
  • Samallie Kiyingi, Director of Legal Services and General Counsel, African Export-Import Bank (Egypt)
  • Wellington Chimwaradze, General Counsel, Africa & Southern Africa, Unilever (South Africa)
  • Fred W. Waithaka, Head of Department, Legal & Secretarial Services, Safaricom PLC

In partnership with:

L500_black_logo (2)